The Ocean Lashes Back

This past week has been a difficult time for the eastern coast of the United States. A category 5 hurricane has ravaged through Gulf of Mexico and has left nothing but destruction. Hurricane Matthews is one of the worst things an ocean can give.

I absolutely love the ocean. The ocean has always given me the best experiences of my life and I could not imagine what my life would be without it. Almost every weekend of summer, I remember surfing, fishing, or swimming in the ocean. These activities filled my with joy!

However, with the hurricane ravaging the east coast, I cannot help but think that the ocean can be an extremely dangerous place. This reminds me of an article I read a couple years back titled, Circuses Are No Fun for Animals, which explains how sometimes animals lash out against their tamers.

I would compare the ocean to the circus animals  in the sense that sometimes we take and take from the ocean without giving anything back. The ocean is heavily polluted, overfished, and neglected. So every now and then, the ocean will turn on its “tamers”. Although it may bring joy to others, sometimes it does harm underneath.

Leave a Reply

